Menu

Get Information About Voluntary Prekindergarten

Get Information About Voluntary Prekindergarten


Voluntary Prekindergarten (VPK) is an educational program for 4-year-olds who reside in Florida and are born on or before September 1 of the school year. VPK is free for eligible children regardless of family income. VPK prepares early learners for success in kindergarten and beyond. It helps build a strong foundation for school using developmentally appropriate material that supports various stages in a child’s development.

Become a VPK Provider


  • Contact Providers Services at 904-208-2044, ext. 231 to register and attend a new VPK Provider Orientation.
  • If you do not have an existing account on the Provider Portal, create a new account and a Provider Profile.
  • Once the Provider Profile is approved, complete the VPK application and the VPK contract.

VPK Provider Eligibility Requirements


Child care providers must be licensed through DCF or accredited through an approved agency before entering a VPK contract. Additional requirements include:

  • Employ a director that has a VPK Endorsed Director Credential
  • Employ instructors that meet the VPK credential requirements
  • Complete assessments for all VPK students
  • Participate in Program Assessment/CLASS
  • Comply with the Statewide VPK Provider Contract Form OEL-VPK 20

VPK Program Options


School Year ProgramSummer ProgramSpecialized Instructional Services (SIS)
540 Instructional Hours
(three or more hours a day)
300 Instructional Hours
(six or more hours a day)
Based on rates of specialists
Class size 4 to 20Class size 4 to 12Individual or small group settings
Often times follows the Duval County Public School year scheduleOften times begins in June. Is typically a two month programCustomized
Instructor must have a minimum of a Child Development Associate (CDA) or higherInstructor must be a certified teacher or bachelor’s degree in an early learning fieldFDOE has approved the following professionals to be VPK SIS providers
A second instructor is required in
a class size of 12 or more students.

Florida’s Assessment of Student Thinking (FAST)


Beginning in the 2022 – 2023 VPK contract year, VPK programs will implement FAST using Renaissance Star Early Literacy. This assessment will be completed online by the VPK child using a touchscreen device seven (7) inches or larger with audio capabilities. FAST using Star Early Literacy will replace Bright Beginnings’s VPK Pre- and Post-Assessments. Star Early Literacy will be administered three (3) times per year, with the first assessment occurring within the first 30 instructional days of your VPK program.

FAST using Star Early Literacy


The Florida Department of Education has contracted with Renaissance Learning, Inc. to implement the Coordinated Screening and Progress Monitoring Program known as Florida’s Assessment of Student Thinking (FAST) using Star Early Literacy. Log in to the Renaissance site at click here or in the link below.

I need help with FAST using Star Early Literacy


StaffCenterContact Information
Sheila MackeyA – Ksmackey@elcduval.org
904-208-2044, ext. 212
Laurie De La CruzL – Zldelacruz@elcduval.org
904-208-2044, ext. 288

Program Assessments/CLASS


As part of the VPK contract, eligible providers participate in Program Assessments/CLASS. For more information about Program Assessments/CLASS, click here.

Staff Center Contact Information
Laurie De La Cruz L – Z 904-208-2044, ext. 288
ldelacruz@elcduval.org
Sheila Mackey A – K 904-208-2044, ext. 212
smackey@elcduval.org
Staff Center Contact Information
Laurie De La Cruz L – Z 904-208-2044, ext. 288
ldelacruz@elcduval.org
Sheila Mackey A – K 904-208-2044, ext. 212
smackey@elcduval.org

As part of the VPK contract, eligible providers participate in Program Assessments/CLASS. For more information about Program Assessments/CLASS, click here.

Staff Center Contact Information
Kendra Dotson – Specialist 1st – Cho 904-208-2044, ext. 219
kdotson@elcduval.org
Beverly Lorde – Specialist Chr – I 904-208-2044, ext. 207
blorde@elcduval.org
Jalise Young Simpkins – Specialist J – Li 904-208-2044, ext. 514
jyoungsimpkins@elcduval
Wendy Vogel – Specialist Lo – Se 904-208-2044, ext. 280
wvogel@elcduval.org
Sylvia Schmucker – Specialist Sh – Z 904-208-2044, ext. 228
sschmucker@elcduval.org
Kathy Bragg – Manager DCPS and Lutheran Social Services 904-208-2044, ext. 217
kbragg@elcduval.org

I need help with the VPK contract or provider profile


StaffCenterContact Information
Kendra Dotson
Specialist
1st – Chokdotson@elcduval.org
904-208-2044, ext. 219
Beverly Lorde
Specialist
Chr – Iblorde@elcduval.org
904-208-2044, ext. 207
Jalise Young Simpkins
Specialist
J – Lijyoungsimpkins@elcduval.org
904-208-2044, ext. 514
Wendy Vogel
Specialist
Lo – Sewvogel@elcduval.org
904-208-2044, ext. 280
Sylvia Schmucker
Specialist
Sh – Zsschmucker@elcduval.org
904-208-2044, ext. 228
Melissa Zurita
Manager
DCPS and Lutheran Social Servicesmzurita@elcduval.org
904-208-2044, ext. 217

VPK Resources and Tutorials

ELC of Duval VPK HandbookClick Here
Florida Early Learning Developmental StandardsClick Here
Division of Early Learning – Provider FormsClick Here
Division Early Learning – Provider ResourcesClick Here

Your registration information is being reviewed. You will be contacted within 48 business hours.

Return